Possession of Marijuana/Drug Paraphernalia
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
A conviction of possession of drug paraphernalia under Texas law is treated as a Class C misdemeanor so long as there are no factors present that upgrade the crime to a more serious charge.
- Class C Possession of Drug Paraphernalia (prosecuted in municipal courts) - punishable by a fine up to $500.
- Class A Possession of Drug Paraphernalia – punishable by up to 1 year in county jail, and up to a $4,000 fine.
Possession of Marijuana
Attitudes about marijuana have been rapidly changing, and although several states have passed laws permitting medical and/or recreational use of marijuana, in Texas, possession of even a small amount of marijuana for personal use can land you in jail.
- Class B Possession of Marijuana < 2 oz – punishable by up to 180 days in county jail, and up to a $2,000 fine.
- Class A Possession of Marijuana 2 oz > 4 oz – punishable by up to 1 year in county jail, and up to a $4,000 fine.